• Thursday, December 07, 2023
businessday logo


Kano inaugurates new executive council

Governor Abba Kabir Yusuf has inaugurated the Kano State executive council comprising 17 commissioners, among others.

The council members were recently screened and confirmed by the state House of Assembly.

The commissioners who were sworn in and assigned portfolios include Aminu Abdulsalam Gwarzo, the deputy governor, ministry of local governments; Baba Halilu Dantiye, ministry of information and internal affairs, and Haruna Dederi, attorney-general/commissioners for justice.

Read also: Cleric urges Tinubu to design policies to ease Nigerians’ suffering

Others include Abubakar Labaran Yusuf, health; Umar Haruna Doguwa, education; Danjuma Mahmud, agriculture and natural resource, Musa Suleiman Shanono – budget and economic planning; Ladidi Ibrahim Garko- tourism and culture.

Also inaugurated were Nasiru Sulen Garo – environment; Tijjani Auwal, religious affairs; Abbas Sani Abbas – commerce; Muhammad Diggol, transportation; Ali Haruna Makoda – water resources, and Aisha Lawan Saji – ministry for women, children and the disabled, among others.

The governor tasked the commissioners to work hard and be just in their undertakings.

“I urge you to be guided at all times by the seven tasted principles of public life that include selflessness, integrity, objectivity, accountability, openness, honesty and leadership by example.

“These principles encapsulate the core values of our administration that will provide one of the yardsticks of evaluating the performance of all our cabinet members and indeed all our political appointees,” the governor said.