• Thursday, December 07, 2023
businessday logo


Guber poll: Hope rises for Esan as Edo North district produces 8th Assembly speaker

Guber poll: Hope rises for Esan as Edo North district produces 8th Assembly speaker

Blessing Agbebaku, lawmaker representing Owan West Local Government Area of Edo State, has emerged Speaker of the state’s 8th House of Assembly.

Agbebaku, who is coming to the Edo State House of assembly for the second term after some years break, is the erstwhile chief of staff to the immediate speaker of the house, and was nominated speaker by Natasha Osawaru, member, Egor constituency and seconded by Addeh Isibor of Esan North East I during the inauguration of the 8th Assembly on Friday in Benin City.

Similarly, Maria Edeko, member representing Esan North East II, was nominated as the deputy speaker of the 24-member legislative house.

BusinessDay reports that with the emergence of the speaker who hails from Edo North senatorial district, there is indication that Edo Central senatorial district now has the advantage of producing the next governor after seemingly decrying marginalisation and not able to occupy beyond the number three position in the past few years.

Following their nominations, Yahaya Omogbai, the Clerk of the house, administered the oath of office and allegiance on the speaker and the deputy speaker.

In his acceptance speech, Agbebaku assured that the house, under his leadership, would put Edo first and pass laws for the interest of people and the development of the state.

Read also: Akpabio, Barau take oath of office as Senate President, Deputy Senate President

The speaker, while thanking members of the house and the governor, said that he would ensure the assembly is united irrespective of the party affiliations.

He, thereafter, administered the oath of allegiance on the 24 members of the house, including Idiaye Yekini, Akoko Edo I; Okogbe Donald, Akoko Edo II; Natasha Osawaru, Egor; Igbiremonlen Sunday, Esan Central; Addeh Isibor, Esan North East I; Ojezele Sunday, Esan South East; Uyi Omosigho, Oredo East; Edosa Richard, Oredo West; Atu Osamwonyi, Orhionmwon I; Iyamu Bright, Orhionmwon II and Osamwonyi Kaycee, Uhunmwode.

Others are Ibhamanu Jonathan, Esan West; Oshmah Ahmed, Etsako Central; Ugabi Kingsley, Etsako East; Lecky Mustapha, Etsako West I; Akokhia Abdul Ganiyu, Etsako West II; Inegbebor Eugine, Igueben; Asonsere Friday, Ikpoba-Okha; Aiguobarueghian Charity, Ovia North East I; Uzamere Andrew, Ovia North East II; Destiny Enabulele, Ovia South West and Eric Okaka, Owan East.

Commenting on what the development portends for the governorship election slated for 2023, Godwins Oriaifoh, an indigene of Edo central senatorial district, said “For me, it is a big plus. Some persons have been talking that, with this arrangement, the Esan people have been sidelined but I don’t see it from that perspective. Edo North cannot be governor and, at the same, the speaker.

“So, deputy governor we go to Edo South while the speakership position is already in Edo North and then the governorship will go to Edo Central senatorial district, where the Esan people come from.”