• Tuesday, February 27, 2024
businessday logo


APC NWC ratifies Tinubu’s choice of Akpabio for Senate president

APC postpones presidential primary as INEC extends deadline

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has formally zoned the Senate Presidency of the in-coming 10th National Assembly to the South-South, with Godswill Akpabio as the party’s choice.

Felix Morka, the party’s national publicity secretary, announced this on Monday in Abuja while addressing newsmen after a closed-door meeting of the party’s National Working Committee (NWC).

Morka said the meeting considered reports of consultations and meetings held with the President-elect Bola Tinubu on zoning arrangements for the 10th National Assembly leadership positions.

“The NWC noted with respect the outcome of the meetings held between the President-elect and the leadership of the NWC.

Read also: Senate presidency: APC N/West endorses Akpabio, Barau

“The NWC called for further and better consultation with necessary stakeholders in order to assure the support of the aspirants to the National Assembly leadership positions and members of the party nationwide,” he said.

He added that the zoning arrangement reported to the party’s NWC was as follows:

Senate resident – South-South, Godswill Akpabio (Akwa Ibom).

Deputy Senate president – North West- Barau Jubrin (Kano).

Speaker, House of Representatives- North West, Abass Tajudeen (Kaduna) and deputy speaker South-East, Ben Kalu (Abia).

The APC scribe urged the party’s leaders, members and Nigerians generally to continue to work for peace and progress of the country during and beyond the current period of leadership transition.