• Sunday, June 23, 2024
businessday logo


Anyaoku bags GCON, as Buhari confers national honours on Emefiele, Akande, others


President Muhammadu Buhari on Sunday conferred the national honour of Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger, (GCON) on Emeka Anyaoku, former secretary general of the Commonwealth.

The president also conferred various national honours on several other Nigerians, including Godwin Emefiele, governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), and ministers who served in his administration.

The national honour list released by the special duties ministry in Abuja on Sunday showed that Emefiele was conferred with the Commander of the Order of the Federal Republic (CFR) alongside 10 serving justices of the Supreme Court, and Mohammed Barkindo, former secretary general of the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC), posthumously.

Others who bagged the CFR honours include Bisi Akande, former Osun State governor; Olusegun Osoba, former governor of Ogun State, Herbert Wigwe, managing director of Access Bank; Maman Daura, and Hadi Sirika, the immediate past minister of aviation.

Oluremi Tinubu, Nigeria’s incoming first lady, was conferred with the national honour of the Commander of the Order of the Niger (CON) alongside 43 others, including serving and former governors, members of the National Assembly, serving and former ministers.