• Thursday, December 07, 2023
businessday logo


2023 CAF Women’s Award: Oshoala, Ajibade, Nnadozie, Kanu, make nominees list

Screenshot 2023-11-14 170325

Super Falcons stars comprising Asisat Oshoala (Barcelona), Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC), Tony Payne (Sevilla), Christy Ucheibe (Benfica), Osinachi Ohale (Pachuca), Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico Madrid) and Uchenna Kanu (Racing Louisville) have been shortlisted for the 2023 CAF Women’s Player of the Year Award.

CAF unveiled the preliminary nominees for the various women’s categories for the CAF Awards 2023 on Tuesday, November, considering their performances at all levels from December 2022 to November 2023.

The list is made of 30 players who will be vying for the prestigious Player of the Year Award,

Oshoala won a record fifth time during the last Awards Gala in July 2022 in Rabat, Morocco and is in contention to claim the sixth one.

Super Falcons goalkeeper Nnadozie is nominated for the Goalkeeper of the Year after her brilliant performance at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup and her club side, Paris FC.

Esther Ajakaye, who debuted for the Super Falcons in the first leg of the 2024 Olympics qualifiers against Ethiopia, has been named alongside Deborah Abiodun and Oluwatosin Demehin for the Young Player of the Year category.

Also, Falcons head coach Randy Waldrum is on the list for the Coach of the Year after guiding Nigeria women to the round of 16 of the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Read also Mikel laments not winning 2013 CAF Award

Nigeria is also set to battle Burkina Faso, Burundi, Ghana, Malawi, Morocco, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania and Zambia for the National Team of the Year.

The ongoing CAF Women’s Champions League Cote d’Ivoire 2023 finalists have each been rewarded with a place in the Club of the Year category.

The winner of each category will be decided after votes from a voting panel consisting of the CAF Technical Committee, media professionals from Member Associations, Head Coaches and captains of Member Associations and clubs involved at the group stages of the Interclub competitions.

The Awards Gala will be graced by African football’s crème de la crème on 11 December 2023 in Marrakech, Morocco.