• Tuesday, March 05, 2024
businessday logo


Yahaya, Abaribe, Kalu, others emerge Principal Officers of Senate

How NASS’ inactivity to legislation heightens fears on budget delays
Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, on Tuesday announced the names of eight other principal officers of the upper legislative chamber.
The lawmakers would form the Body of Principal Officers also known as Selection Committee whose responsibility is to assign senators to committees based on interest shown by individual senators.
This followed separate letters sent to the Senate President by the governing All Progressives Congress (APC) and the main opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).
In a letter written by APC National Chairman, Adams Oshiomhole, the governing party named the Director General of Lawan Campaign Group, Abdullahi Yahaya (Kebbi State) as Senate Majority Leader, with Ajayi Boroffice (Ondo) as Deputy Senate Majority Leader.
Also, a former governor of Abia State, Orji Uzor Kalu, was announced as Chief Whip while the Spokesperson of the Eighth Senate, Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi (Niger State) would deputise Kalu.
In another letter written by PDP National Chairman, Uche Secondus, it picked Enyinnaya Abaribe (Abia State) as Senate Minority Leader and Emmanuel Bwacha (Taraba) as his deputy.
Also picked was Phillip Aduda (Federal Capital Territory) as Minority Whip and Sahabi Yau (Zamfara State) as his deputy.
In their separate acceptance speeches, Yahaya and Abaribe accepted the nominations and promised to discharge their duties effectively.