Ifeanyi Okowa approves payment of N400m to 40 mission schools

Ifeanyi Okowa, the executive governor of Delta State has approved the payment of an N400 million grant to 40 mission schools in the state to enable the schools to upgrade and expand their facilities.

Charles Aniagwu, the state commissioner for information made this known recently while briefing journalists on some of the decisions reached at the state executive council meeting presided over by Kingsley Otuaro, the deputy governor of Delta State.

The commissioner explained that each of the 40 schools would receive N10 million to enable them to upgrade.

Aniagwu, who addressed the newsmen in the company of Olisa Ifeajika, the chief press secretary to the governor, explained that the gesture was part of the state government’s conscious steps to ensure that the schools did not lag in terms of facilities and human capital development efforts.

“At today’s exco meeting, a number of decisions were taken and one of them is the approval of disbursement of N400 million grants to 40 missionary schools in the state that were previously being run by the state government before they were handed over to the missionaries.

“That translates to N10 million for each of the 40 missionary schools to enable them to improve on their facilities because you do know that in the last seven years, we have taken a lot of effort and time to upgrade a number of schools that are run by the government.

Read also: Guber poll: Okowa urges Osun PDP council to secure victory for party

“But, since the return of a number of these schools to the missionaries by the last administration, we had hoped that they too, should be able to cope fully. Yes, they had done very well as they have been able to add values to these schools,” he said.

Some of the schools earlier returned to missions by the Delta State government are Mary Mount College, Boji-Boji Owa; St. Patrick’s College, Asaba; Our Lady’s High School, Effurun; St. Georges’ College, Obinomba.

Others are St. Martin De Pores, Onicha-Olona; St Roses Girls’ Secondary School, Ogwashi-Uku; St. Charles College, Abavo; St Vincent’s College, Okwagbe; Ebelogu Grammar School, Utagba-Uno; St. Brigid’s Girls’ Grammar School, Asaba.

Recall that in 2021, Okowa’s administration established a directorate to reduce the number of out-of-school children in the state.