• Saturday, May 18, 2024
businessday logo


Customer service award: MTN, Heritage, GTB, Julius Berger, FIRS top list


Heritage Bank has assured that it would be playing a lead role at the coming Nigeria Customer Service Awards (NCSA) because of its commitment to customer satisfaction and excellence in service delivery.

The bank also said its participation in the annual excellence awards was part of an overall plan to consolidate on recent positive landmarks the bank achieved in the industry.

It would be noted that last week, Heritage Bank and the Asset Management Corporation of Nigeria (AMCON) signed a Share Purchase Agreement (SPA) that paved the way for the bank to acquire Enterprise Bank Limited.

Heritage Bank, which was earlier announced as the preferred bidder for Enterprise Bank, paid 20 percent or N11.2 billion being part of the bid price.

Chiamaka Ugo Obidike, the bank’s head, service measurement and evaluation, who spoke on the bank’s decision to partner the NCSA, said “the bank identifies with the NCSA’s objective of raising standards of customer service in all sectors and in the banking sector in particular.”

According to her, “this unique and exciting award recognises the service levels attained by companies from which service excellence can be measured.”

Aliyu Ilias, coordinator of the NCSA, reacting on partnership with the bank, said the organisation was glad to have Heritage Bank as the sponsor of the 2014 edition of the awards coming up early in October in Abuja, explaining that it had not been easy selecting the right sponsor given the number of sponsors willing to sponsor this year’s edition.

On the significance of the awards, Ilias said “it is basically aims at celebrating service excellence in Nigeria. We encourage Nigerian companies to go beyond paying lip-service and eye-service to customers because the customer deserve better.

“We also preach that dealing fairly with the customer is both rewarding to the organisation as it is to the customer, and that is why we promote and project such hard working organisations that excel in the business of fulfilling customer service delivery.”

Recipients of this year’s award are: Access Bank, Guaranty Trust Bank, DHL, Fedex, Etisalat, MTN, Channels TV, Halogen Security, Kia Motor, Dana Airline, Discovery Airline, AA Rescue, Vava Furniture, Interior Wood Work, Phase3 Telecoms, Lona Global Resources, ‎Nestlé, Kasapreko, Bold & Beautiful Salon, Nigeria Telecommunications Commision, TSL, BHN, Bua, Brain and Hammers, Stanbic Pension Managers, Intercontinental Hotel, Julius Berger, Swipha, Emzor, Wakanow, Jovago, Konga, Jumia, etc.

Harrison Edeh