• Tuesday, June 18, 2024
businessday logo


Finidi, Osimhen, Ajibade lead nominations for 10th Nigeria Pitch Awards


Organizers of the Nigeria Pitch Awards are set to make a grand return to Uyo, the city known for its ‘uncommon transformation,’ with the 10th edition of Nigeria Pitch Awards, Nigeria’s longest-running football awards taking place on Saturday, June 8th, at the Ibom Meridien Hotel and Resorts.

Shina Phillips, President of the Nigeria Pitch Awards, announced that his team is preparing a spectacular event to celebrate a decade of an esteemed project built on the pillars of authenticity, transparency, and credibility, and endorsed by the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF).

“We are leaving no stone unturned to ensure a memorable tenth edition of the awards. Everything is set, and we are heading to Uyo not only to deliver a super-show but also to mobilize resources to support the Super Eagles in their FIFA World Cup qualifying match against South Africa on Friday, June 7th,” Phillips stated.

“I want to take this opportunity to deeply appreciate the NFF, the Super Eagles, all our friends, enablers, affiliates, and commercial partners for their support over the past 10 years. I promise that the values of transparency, integrity, and credibility will always remain at the core of the Nigeria Pitch Awards.”

Nominees have already been announced across 18 award categories, with winners to be unveiled at the Ibom Meridien on the night of Saturday, June 8th.

Categories include Goalkeeper of the Year, Defender of the Year, Midfielder of the Year, Striker of the Year, Queen of the Pitch, King of the Pitch, Sam Okwaraji Award, Football Pitch, Football-Friendly Governor, Corporate Sponsor, and several honours for media representatives.

Goalkeeper of the Year: Kayode Bankole (Remo Stars); Amas Obasogie (Bendel Insurance); Ojo Olorunleke (Enyimba FC)

Defender of the Year: Calvin Bassey (Fulham FC); Ola Aina (Nottingham Forest); Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce SK)

Midfielder of the Year: Alhassan Yusuf (Royal Antwerp); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City); Alex Iwobi (Fulham FC)

Striker of the Year: Robert Mizo (Bayelsa United); Victor Osimhen (Napoli SC); Victor Boniface (Bayer Leverkusen)

Queen of the Pitch: Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico de Madrid Femenino); Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC); Asisat Oshoala (Bay FC)

King of the Pitch: Victor Osimhen (Napoli SC); Emeka Obioma (Enyimba FC); Victor Boniface (Bayer Leverkusen)

Team of the Year: Super Falcons; Enyimba FC; Remo Stars

Coach of the Year: Daniel Ogunmodede (Remo Stars); Finidi George (Enyimba FC); Randy Waldrum (Super Falcons)

Sam Okwaraji Award: Victor Osimhen (Napoli SC); Ahmed Musa; Kunle Soname (Proprietor, Remo Stars)

State With The Best Grassroots Football Development Programme: Edo State; Delta State; Lagos State

Football Pitch of the Year: Mobolaji Johnson Arena, Lagos; Remo Stars Stadium, Ikenne; Godswill Akpabio Stadium, Uyo

Football-Friendly Governor of the Year: His Excellency Umo Eno (Akwa Ibom State); His Excellency Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos State); His Excellency Godwin Obaseki (Edo State)

Corporate Sponsor of Football: Bet9ja (Sport Betting); GTI (Financial Services); MTN (Telecom)

Sportsmanship Award: Hon. Kunle Soname (Proprietor, Remo Stars); Victor Osimhen (Napoli SC); Hon. Gbenga Elegbeleye (Chairman, NPFL Board)

Football Journalist of the Year (Print): Christian Okpara (The Guardian); Charles Diya (New Telegraph); Johnny Edward (Punch Newspapers)

Football Journalist of the Year (TV): Miyen Akiri (TVC); Mozez Praiz (SuperSport); Cecilia Omorogbe (Channels TV)

Football Journalist of the Year (Radio): Olawale Adigun (Mainland FM); Yinka Oyedele (Brila 88.9 FM); Anthony Bekederemo (Brila 88.9 FM)

Football Journalist of the Year (Online): Samuel Ahmadu (Savid News); Tobi Adepoju (Oganla Media); Kunle Solaja (sportsvillagesquare.com)