Inauguration of the House of Reps begins as clerk takes roll call

House of Representatives

The process for the inauguration of the House of Representatives has began at 2:30 pm as the Clerk of the National Assembly, Mohammed Sani-Omolori  read proclamation note and took roll call of Members-elect.

After the roll call, the House will elect its Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively that would preside over the 9th Assembly (Reps).

Gbajabiamila (APC, Lagos),  Umaru Bago (APC Niger), John Dyegh (APC, Benue) and Olajide Olatubosun (APC, Oyo) are contesting for the position of the 9th Speaker of the House.

While Gbajabiamila has been adopted and endorsed with Ahmed Wase for the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the 9th Assembly by APC, Bago an APC lawmaker has been adopted by the main opposition Peoples Democratic Party, PDP for Speakership, leaving Dyegh and Olatubosun without the backing of any political party.

Sani-Omolori had earlier inaugurated the Senate with Ahmed Lawan elected as the President of the 9th Assembly with 79 votes against his only rival, Ali Ndume who pulled 28 votes while Ovi Omo-Agege was elected Deputy Senate President with 68 votes against Ike Ekweramadu of the main opposition PDP who garnered 37 votes.

Details later

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.